Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Fabric for Book Lovers

I was at my favorite local quilt shop, picking up some fabric for my next quilting project when I came across this novelty fabric. I have no use for it at the moment, but my younger son had picked up the bolt and carried it around the store. I didn't notice until we were at the register and he said, "Come on, Mom, you know you want it!" So, I am now the proud owner of one yard of Timeless Treasures Fabrics - Library CM8214. Maybe I'll make a pillow out of it or save it for some later quilting project. In any event, I do like the pattern!

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Home for a Book Lover

The Wall Street Journal ran an article on Jane Friedman's homeThe House That Books Built. Don't you love that bookcase? - It is called "The Tree of Life." Book references even spill into the bathrooms. An upstairs bathroom is papered in wallpaper that resembles bookshelves, displaying the spines of fiction paperbacks such as Jack Kerouac's "On the Road." Downstairs, Ms. Friedman had another bathroom's walls covered by old manuscripts and pages from books such as "The Stranger."

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Local Book Signing for Fans of Holyoke, MA, History

I've always been fascinated by these local history books published about almost every city in the country. They offer interesting photos and text and shed light on some little known aspects of local history. The Barnes and Noble in Holyoke is offering an author event April 14th at 1 pm with Craig P. Della Penna, the author of the Holyoke book. For more info on the event, please visit http://store-locator.barnesandnoble.com/event/3226415

Saving Old Books

This comes under the heading of "Really Cool Jobs."

The Wall Street Journal recently ran an article on "second careers." One of those profiled is the owner of Milagro Bookbinding. Dr. Jerome Goss was a cardiologist in his previous life. After he retired at age 69, he decided to devote himself to "saving old books." He attended a training program in Scotland for a year.

Today, he runs Milagro Bookbinding, a one-man venture specializing in restoring leather books from the 1600s and 1700s. Using only hand tools, he works on books from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. every day in a specially designed bindery studio on his property in Corrales, N.M. . . .

Dr. Goss says he has built up a steady clientele of book collectors and dealers who value his attention to detail and willingness to scout out rare materials. Recently he took a trip to Florence, Italy, just to buy marbled paper.


Read the full article here: Every Patient Has a Story

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Saturday Evening Post Short Story Contest

From the Saturday Evening Post;

In its nearly three centuries of existence, The Saturday Evening Post has published short fiction by a who’s who of American authors including F. Scott Fitzgerald, William Faulkner, Kurt Vonnegut, Ray Bradbury, Louis L’Amour, Sinclair Lewis, Jack London, and Edgar Allan Poe. Now you have the opportunity to join that illustrious line-up by taking part in the 1st Annual Saturday Evening Post Great American Fiction Contest. The winning story will be published in the Jan/Feb 2013 edition of the magazine and on our website. The winning writer will receive a payment of $500. Five runners-up will be published on our website and receive payment of $100 each.

Entries must be character- or plot-driven stories in any genre of fiction that falls within the Post’s broad range of interest—one guided by the publication’s mission: Celebrating America, Past, Present, and Future. “We are looking for stories with universal appeal touching on shared experiences and themes that will resonate with readers from diverse backgrounds and experience,” says Joan SerVaas, publisher of The Saturday Evening Post.


Find out more here: Saturday Evening Post Fiction Contest